Bat Specialists in South Africa

The South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions (SACNASP) is the legislated registration and regulation authority for natural scientists in South Africa The Natural Science Professions Act 2003 (Act No. 27 of 2003) as amended states that a natural scientist, whose field of practice is one of those gazetted by the Minister of Science and Technology, may not practice unless registered with this Council (Government Gazette Notice No. 64 of 41445 published on 16th February 2018). Thus if a specialist report is required for an environmental assessment report that is environmental science in nature, that scientist needs to be registered with SACNASP.

We have been asked to list people and companies who can undertake bat specialist studies for EIAs. While we (The South African Bat Assessment Association) can take no responsibility for any contracts with any of these specialists we do believe the following people are qualified and capable of undertaking surveys.

If you know of any other qualified bat specialist currently working in South Africa please contact our website manager Kate Richardson on ejrichardson@worldonline.co.za and we can add them to the list.


Bat Specialist Surveys

The following people and companies are qualified and currently undertake bat specialist surveys:

Name Company SACNASP Registration No. Contact Details
Jonathan Aronson

Arcus Consulting

www.arcusconsulting.co.za

400238/14 jonathana@arcusconsulting.co.za
Stacey Cyrus (Jordaan)

Gaia Environmental

www.gaiaenvironmental.co.za

stacey.jordaan@gaiaenvironmental.co.za

(+27) 82 951 4574

Stephanie Dippenaar

Stephanie Dippenaar Consulting

Collaboration with Birds and Bats Unlimited

sdippenaar@snowisp.com

(+27) 82 200 5244

Kate MacEwan

Inkululeko Wildlife Services

www.iws-sa.co.za

400123/05 kate@iws-sa.co.za

(+27) 79 175 1758

Werner Marais

Animalia Consultants

www.animalia-consult.co.za

400169/10 werner@animalia-consult.co.za

(+27) 78 190 3316

Monika Moir Independent Consultant monikamoir@gmail.com
Ricardo Ramalho Independent Consultant ri.ramalho@gmail.com
Alicia Thomas-Raw

Gaia Environmental

www.gaiaenvironmental.co.za

400576/14 alicia.thomas@gaiaenvironmental.co.za

Independent Comments on Bat Surveys

As well as the above specialists, the following people can provide independent comments on surveys:

Name Company SACNASP Registration No. Contact Details
Leigh Richards Durban Natural Science Museum 117386 Leigh.Richards@durban.gov.za
Kate Richardson

Richardson & Peplow Environmental

www.gaiaenvironmental.co.za

116614 ejrichardson@worldonline.co.za

(+27) 82 559 7681

David Jacobs University of Cape Town Department of Biological Sciences David.Jacobs@uct.ac.za

(+27) 83 315 9280

Lourens Leeuwner Endangered Wildlife Trust lourensl@ewt.org.za
Peter Taylor University of Venda 116159 Peter.Taylor@univen.ac.za